» How far should shingles hang over drip edge?

Post new topic Reply to topic               Roofing/Construction Questions Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
  Post subject: How far should shingles hang over drip edge?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:53 pm 

Post liked: 0 time
Liked posts: 0 time
I just had a new roof put on my house. It was a complete removal of old shingles with new drip edge, freeze guard, etc.

I'm not a roof expert, but I knew my old roof well. I've cleaned the gutters out 4 or 5 times since I bought the house a year ago. Now, with the new roof on, I have trouble getting my hand in the gutter.

I didn't have this problem before. The contractor said the old shingles extended too far over the edge, so now they must REALLY hang too far over.

Is there a standard extension length for new shingles hanging over the drip edge?

Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:16 pm 

Hi,if the roofer used an extended drip edge flashing the shingles should be even with the outer edge of the perimeter of the dripedge. However, if they used an "L" type metal flashing or no flashing at all, then the starter course and the shingles must be extended beyond the perimeter eve and rake edges 1/4 to 3/4 inch. 8) where do you live?? the code may be different in your area. :mrgreen:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:24 pm 

jaxroofer wrote:
Hi,if the roofer used an extended drip edge flashing the shingles should be even with the outer edge of the perimeter of the dripedge. However, if they used an "L" type metal flashing or no flashing at all, then the starter course and the shingles must be extended beyond the perimeter eve and rake edges 1/4 to 3/4 inch. 8) where do you live?? the code may be different in your area. :mrgreen:

Thanks for the response. A couple of questions:
1) How do I determine if extended drip edge or "L" type metal flashing was used?
2) If the former, what is the "outer edge of the perimeter of the drip edge"?